Scholarships Awarded at the Junior Achievement Business Challenge

February 21, 2017
Eau Claire, WI—Ninety high school students from 15 schools across northwestern Wisconsin competed for scholarships. The teams competed on who could run the most successful business during today’s JA Business Challenge, at Chippewa Valley Technical College in Eau Claire. After a day of strategizing with local business professionals, 16 high school students reaped the benefit for their efforts and won post-secondary scholarships. Junior Achievement is pleased to announce this year’s JA Business Challenge 2017 scholarship winners:
First Place: Rice Lake High School: Mitchell Goettle, and Michael Klownowski each won $600 scholarships provided by William J. & Gertrude R. Casper Foundation and the Great Northern Corporation Mark Orendorff Memorial Scholarship. The team was sponsored Johnson Bank and Melissa Drost from Johnson Bank was the mentor.
Second Place: McDonell Central High School students: John Francis, Sam Zwickel and Scott Wild, each won $400 scholarships provided by Market & Johnson, Inc. and WESTconsin Credit Union. The team was sponsored by Great Northern Corporation and mentored by David Young also from Great Northern Corporation.
Third Place: Chetek-Weyerhaeuser High School: Jordan Rihn, Cole Buckli and Carter Buchman each won $200 scholarships provided by Market & Johnson, Inc. and WESTconsin Credit Union. The team was sponsored by Jennie-O Turkey Store and mentored by Doug Westholm from Jennie-O Turkey Store.
Fourth Place: Altoona High School students: Noah Clark, Isaac Colbert and Brooklynn Arbs, each won $100 scholarships provided by the William J. & Gertrude R. Casper Foundation. The team was sponsored by Xcel Energy and mentored by Ray Jasicki from Xcel Energy.
The first and second place teams will compete at the Wisconsin JA Business Challenge competition May 9, 2017 at Acuity in Sheboygan, Wisconsin.
Business Sponsors: We thank the 40 plus businesses supporting area youth through this year's JA Business Challenge. They  include: 3M, Associated Bank, Bauer Built Inc., Bauman Associates, Ltd., BMO Harris Bank, Cardinal FG, ChemCeed, LLC, Chippewa Valley Technical College, Clear Water  Kiwanis, Courtesy Corporation - McDonald's, Forward Bank, Great Northern Corporation, Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire, Independence State Bank, JA of Thorp, JAMF Software, Jennie-O Turkey Store, Johnson Bank, Royal Credit Union, Keyes Chevrolet, Kristo Orthodontics, Market & Johnson, Inc., Mayo Clinic Health System, Mega Holiday, Metropolis Resort, Northwestern Bank, Ntec, Ostertag Orthodontics, LLC, Rockwell Automation, Ruder Ware, L.L.S.C., Security Financial Bank, Sharp Photo & Portrait, Spectrum Industries, Inc., Starbucks, Sterling Water Culligan, TTM Technologies, Unity Bank, WESTconsin Credit Union, William J. & Gertrude R. Casper Foundation, WIN, Xcel Energy and UW-Eau Claire College of Business.
Also, thank you to the event’s gift-in-kind contributors: Chippewa Valley Technical College, Merchants Bank, Target, U.S. Bank, Metropolis Resort, Wells Fargo, Kwik Trip Inc., Culligan Water and Courtesy Corporation – McDonald’s. In addition thanks to Tyler Mickelson from WEAU, UWEC College of Business, CVTC and Kohl's Cares volunteers.
About Junior Achievement
Junior Achievement (JA) is the world's largest non-profit organization dedicated to educating K-12 students about entrepreneurship, financial literacy and work-readiness through experiential hands-on programs. District staff collaborates with more than 690volunteers and 650 teachers, educating more than 16,600 students throughout northwestern Wisconsin last school year. For more information, visit us at or call 715-835-5566.
Cutline: From left to right, Rice Lake High School students Mitchell Goettle, and Michael Klownowski and Melissa Drost from Johnson Bank was the mentor.
Lynn Barrie, Marketing Development Manager, (715) 835-5566 ext.26